Adobo Seasoned Chicken

14 Oct

Chicken is somewhat of an enigma. Bland, dry, flavourless, are all common adjectives used to describe chicken. Chef’s aren’t huge fans of it, classing it as a pretty mundane meat and people don’t like ordering it in restaurants because it’s a boring choice. So if all this is true then why do we eat more of it than any other meat in the world? Sure price has fallen drastically in recent years due to battery farming making it available to most but then again off-cuts of beef and pork, mutton, and offal are still just as cheap but remain unpopular.

Maybe it was the advent of the chicken nugget or the Colonel’s secret recipe that propelled the chicken to greatness (based on popularity) but whatever the case, it looks certain to stay on top with more and more chicken only restaurants popping up and supermarkets dedicating more space to our feathered friend than any other meat.

Having said that I’m still not convinced it’s all that great. Sure, its handy for someone like me on a budget when I can buy a whole bird for €4 or prepared breasts for about the same price. Only problem is I have to add so many other ingredients for flavour that my shopping bill soars.

Honestly, I had almost given up on chicken until I stumbled across this recipe. And I owe it all to Iron Chef bobby Flay, had he not entertained me so much by traveling to bumpkin towns across America challenging local hicks to food throwdowns, I would never have bought his book. But he did and I did and I’m happy I did. Make sense? Doesn’t matter if it doesn’t because the recipe does:

Adobo Seasoning

1 tablespoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion granules

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon paprika (smoked or sweet)

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon turmeric

1/2 tablespoon oregano (recipe says fresh but dried works fine)

Procedure

Pat the chicken legs/thighs/wings (whatever you’re using) dry with kitchen towel. Stops moisture getting in the seasoning and making it clump together.

Cover each piece of chicken liberally with seasoning. Most of it should be used up at the end.

Simply roast how you would normally with chicken. I won’t tell you how to do it because everyone has their own preferred method.

Eat.

Leave a Reply

