Oreo Truffles

5 Oct

Oreo TrufflesI tried to make my own truffles once. There was white chocolate, dark chocolate, double cream, cocoa powder, chocolate shavings, and a generous heaping of hope and high expecations. I have to say the flavour was pretty decent but unfortunately they looked like a big sack of crap. They also began to melt profusely every time I opened the fridge door, a temptation that my busy little hands just couldn’t resist. So yes, if you were one of those people to whom I offered a homemade truffle about a year and a half or so ago then it probably had one of my fat greedy fingers in it before it hit your mouth. You can cover up anything if you have enough chocolate shavings. Apologies.

I was slightly reluctant to try what I had first seen referred to as oreo cheesecake balls. Firstly because I don’t think any food should have the word ‘balls’ in the title. And secondly because I couldn’t understand how combining mushed up oreo biscuits with cream cheese could produce anything like the delicious results I had read about. Oreo’s don’t rank among my most favouritest biscuits, but I have a colossal sweet tooth and was willing to give them the benefit of the doubt, plus there was cheese involved so deep down I knew it was all going to be ok. The results far exceeded my expectations; creamy with that distinct dark oreo flavour and a very slight sourness from the cream cheese. The sweet white chocolate coating really complemented the centre as well as giving a nice colour contrast (which obviously I really appreciated as I was stuffing them into my mouth). I’ll definitely make these again, the only downside is they stay firm in the fridge so I can’t accidentally brush my hand right into them when reaching for the mayonnaise at the back. *

*the mayonnaise is never at the back of the fridge. Something so important should be kept up front or in the door where it can be accessed swiftly in case of emergency.

Oreo Truffles.
Packet of oreo biscuits (pack of 18 I think I used)
112g Philadelphia cream cheese
220g chocolate (I used milky bar)

1) Crush the cookies into fine crumbs in a food processor. You can also use a rolling-pin to crush the cookies inside a ziplock bag. Or if like me you have none of these at your disposal, you can put them into a large plastic bowl and mush them up with an empty bottle of rum.
2) Add the cream cheese and mix until well blended.
3) Roll into ball shapes about an inch in diameter and refrigerate on a tray for a couple of hours until firm.
4) Melt chocolate in a bowl and dip the oreo-cheese truffles into the chocolate until covered.
5) Place on a baking sheet lined with grease proof paper until firm.
6) Stuff into your mouth before anybody else can get to them.

Leave a Reply

