Cinnamon Sugar Bread – three friends united

30 Sep

‘Cinnamon. It should be on tables in restaurants along with salt and pepper. Anytime someone says, “Ooh, this is so good – what’s in this?” the answer invariably comes back, “cinnamon.” Cinnamon. Again and again’ (Seinfeld)

I’m convinced I’ll eat just about anything with Cinnamon in it, I’m only once step away from drinking everything through a cinnamon stick. Why do I love it so? I’m not even sure, its aroma is so intoxicating I’m convinced that cinnamon trees are somehow related to poppies and we’ll discover its opiate powers in years to come. Hoardes of people smoking cinnamon bark will fill city streets with a sweet spicy aroma. Here’s to hoping anyway.

Why didn’t I make this sooner? Days later and I’m still wondering and pondering baking another this week to make up for lost time.

The first bite was transcendent. Warm, sugary, yeasty and moist with a brioche like consistency. If you’re not yet persuaded to make this you never will be. My Lobster Club co-author, who has somewhat of a giant sweet tooth also loved this and made known it was my best attempt at baking to date. Alas, it won’t last very long.

All I can say is thank you Joy the Baker for this amazing recipe. What, did you seriously think I could have invented this?

Leave a Reply

